Is This Mom Thing Getting Easier?

Ok, something has happened, and while I’m not really complaining, it’s freaking me out a little…did the whole mom thing get easier in the past few days?

No miracles have occurred…Aidan still throws massive, yet random, temper tantrums…Sean is still two…my life hasn’t changed…thanks to tax money, I’m not worried about groceries or gas money for a few weeks, at least…that may be making a slight difference…but I know it’s temporary relief, so the stress is still there…

So, I’m thinking it’s got to be something else…and maybe I’m just finally getting the hang of this mom stuff…I’m showing patience I didn’t know I possessed…I’m laughing at their silliness and being silly with them…I got Sean to say Mississippi today and laughed because it was probably the cutest thing I’ve ever heard…

And they seem to listen to me…most of the time…I can almost lay down the law – that’s still a work in progress…Aidan is following his behavior chart and earning a little money, which he loves…I think he’s up to about $3 now – and that doesn’t include what he’s spent…

As good as everything is, I still need a break…and right now, that doesn’t happen…but in a few weeks, my saint of a mom is taking my demon children darling boys for a solid week…a week…brave, brave woman…and I love her for it!

I’ve always considered myself the least maternal person on the planet…but I’m getting nothing but practice in right now (the expression trial by fire comes to mind)…practice makes perfect, right? I can kiss the boo-boos, make the sandwiches, construct the toys (with the million pieces they come with), kill the bugs, play trains and cars, read the books, help with homework, give The Look (still working on that one), bring the tickle-monster out to play, stay up with a sick baby, and chase after a hyper one…and a year ago, I wouldn’t have believed myself capable of it…

Yeah, I think I’m getting better at the whole Mom thing…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It DOES get easier! Then they’ll hit a new stage and of course throw everything into a tailspin till you get used to that stage!But you my dear are doing a wonderful job!You’ll be able to handle anything that comes your way!

Leave a Reply

