The Potty Chronicles – Ditching the Diaper

A week into this whole potty training thing, and I’m pretty sure there’s no real progress to speak of…last week, the potty sat in the corner largely ignored…until this past weekend…

Sean (and I) finally remembered the damn thing on Sunday…he pulled it apart, threw the pieces-parts around the living room, and yes, put the potty seat on his head again…

20120227-201208.jpg

I finally remembered a couple of tricks from the last debacle lesson from Aidan’s potty training days…take off the diaper! And make sure the mop and carpet cleaner are close at hand…

Sean did not like having his diaper removed for no apparent reason…until he felt the air down there…then he pulled up the bottom of his shirt, held it around his stomach, and roamed the house…there’s nothing like watching the baby dance to Thomas songs, bare-assed…shake it, baby!

I couldn’t get him to sit on the potty, though…I even used a little brotherly rivalry…Aidan was such a good sport and sat on it, while I pointed out that Big Brother was sitting on the potty and couldn’t Sean sit on the potty? I am so glad there were no witnesses…

And then it happened…the fascination with the privates…each other’s that is…Aidan almost couldn’t help himself…so I had to make him help himself…it’s awkward enough to watch a two-year find it, realize it’s there, and fall in love…its even worse when the six year old realize he’s not the only one with the privates

The potty chronicles continue…and I keep wishing I had paid more attention when Aidan was going through all this…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 27, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hahahah.. I remember potty training my daughter a few years back. She thought privates were hilarious too.

Leave a Reply

