Sometimes It’s More Important To Be A Good Mom

I heard my boys laugh with pure joy today…deep belly laughs that only small children can manage..they were the happiest they’ve been in a while…and all because their dad came to see them…

It’s been nearly a month since he’s seen them – and no, he doesn’t live far away…he works two doors down from my office (weird but true)…Most of the time I’m annoyed with him…it’s just the nature of where we are with one another…

And I wanted to be annoyed today…except the sound of my babies believing that all is good in their world prevented any negative feelings…well, almost…

I hate Mom guilt…it sucks…but it happens…

I had competing thoughts hearing their pure joy…happiness, of course…guilt too, though…I’m the reason they don’t have both parents at home…and I always wonder if I could do more to help them see their dad more often…

I invited The Ex to stay for dinner…for the boys…because sometimes, it’s more important to be a good mom than to be right…

I hope that they will have more moments like today…I hope that one day The Ex isn’t the only one in their life that inspires big belly laughs like that, but I’m glad someone brings it out in them…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys, Thinking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I admire your attitude and consideration – it must be really tough sometimes. Stay positive and know that all that you do for your children is an investment in your relationship with them, and that will carry you through.

    I enjoyed your post!

  2. Great honesty and I love the realization that to be right is never as good as doing the right thing for your children. I hate Mom guilt and the resentment that overwhelms me when the children chose their dad over me… still working on it .Loved the post thanks X

Leave a Reply

