The Benjamin Boys To The Extreme

After a week long break, the boys felt it was important that I be thrown back into the deep end…

Monday – Sean refused to wake up and cried through our entire morning routine…he threw his PopTart on the floor (yeah, I know, not very healthy, but he refused a banana)…he didn’t want to go to daycare…he refused to use the potty (even though he used it for his grandfather!)…he didn’t want to eat his dinner…

Tuesday – Aidan didn’t want to get out of bed…he yelled his way through the morning routine…thankfully, he calmed down by the time we got in the car…Sean pushed me away when I tried to give him a goodbye kiss at the daycare…Sean refused the potty…

Wednesday – a return to normal…thank God…oh yeah, Sean still refuses to sit on the potty…

*****

Aidan: “Find, f-i-n-d, kind, k-i-n…Mom! Oh no!”

The car door swung open as I was driving down the road…

Me: “Oh shit!”

Aidan: “My homework is…hey! Mom! You’re not supposed to say that!”

I pull over to close the door. Aidan is sobbing at this point.

Aidan: “My homework is gone!! I need my homework!”

Me: “Don’t worry. I’ll email your teacher and explain what happen. She’ll give you another copy, I promise. Please don’t cry. It’s not the end of the world.”

Aidan (wailing): “I know, but it’s almost the end of the nine weeks!”

*****

Sean: “Go faster, Mommy!”

Me: “I can’t baby.”

Sean: “GO, Mom-mee!”

Me: “Dude! Chill!”

Sean: “Go…FAST-ER!!!!”

I swear he sounds like I did at age 16…but he’s TWO!

*****

Sean: “Me take bath?”

Me: “First, we have to get in the car…and then go home.”

Sean: “Then me take bath?”

Me: “Yes, but first car, then home.”

Sean: “Then me take bath?”

Me: “Yes, but first car, then home.”

Sean: “Then me take bath?”

We went on that like for five minutes. I swear I do it to myself sometimes.

*****

The break was good…and necessary…and it reminded me of the importance of family…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey at least the kiddos wanted to take the bath!!! Glad you got a break though!

Leave a Reply

