The Potty Chronicles – Oh, Sean…

Can I just say that I hate potty-training?

Today was not easy…I bribed Sean into sitting on the potty with Skittles…and he sat for so long he finally did number 2… but he wasn’t happy about it. He didn’t want to high-five, do a happy dance, or anything (of course, I don’t blame him – when was the last time you celebrated a bodily function?)…he even ran away when I started to wipe his butt…there’s nothing better than chasing down a toddler, cornering him in the laundry room, and forcing him to take a butt-wiping…

We sat on the couch and started watching Spongebob (Sean’s new love)…I asked every few minutes, “Sean, do you need to potty?” And always received an emphatic, “No!” And then we both got sucked into the Sponge…20 minutes later, as I’m helping him off the couch, I realize he’s been sitting in a puddle…on my couch…my fabric, not easily cleaned, couch…dammit…

I know there are people who will say that you have to perservere through moments like that, but the boy was willing to sit in a cold, wet puddle rather than use the potty…so today, it was back to the diaper…just for today…

I missed most of this with Aidan…and frankly, one week with The Step when he was three, and he was trained…hell, one weekend with The Step and Sean used the potty three freaking times! I think The Step is the Potty Whisperer and needs to look into a career change…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on March 31, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh yes, I hear you! Keep up the great work, and send Nickelodeon the bill for the couch-cleaning. 😉

Leave a Reply

