In Which Easter Turns Out Better Than Expected

If someone had told me yesterday that I would have spent my Easter watching my boys play in the grass, look for Easter eggs, and eat way too many sweets, I would have called them a liar…

I never have been great at the whole family outing thing – even when I was married…mostly because I can see the aggravation that will occur, and it just makes me tired, so I tend to beg off and do very little…but I’ve been making an effort for the boys – especially at the holidays…

So Saturday was the Easter Egg Drop at the local high school…10,000 eggs, several of which were thrown from a helicopter…Sean was clingy because he doesn’t like crowds (he’s definitely my child)…Aidan was just antsy and wanted to stay close…Mom #2 came with because there are just some things I’m not doing alone…wrangling two kids over Easter eggs is one of them…

We got down to the football field; they did a countdown; and it was pandemonium…Aidan managed to grab 2 eggs…Sean wouldn’t let me put him down…not that I could have because I couldn’t see the ground for all the people….it was like locusts, y’all…within two minutes the eggs were gone, and Aidan was crying…I saw some kids with 40+ eggs…are you freaking kidding me?! A little boy shared his eggs with the boys because his dad knew Mom #2…and I felt better about humanity again…

Aidan was a little mopey yesterday…and then Mom #2 to the rescue! She invited us to her family Easter dinner/egg hunt…after what happened earlier, how could I say no?

The boys were satisfied with what the Easter Bunny brought them this morning and had sugar for breakfast (in the form of candy)…they were happy to get out of the house…but as usual, Sean was feeling shy, and Aidan was anxious…

We arrived and just let them play and play…Sean took to Mom #2’s family very quickly…Aidan just wanted to play with the only other kid there…they barely ate their lunch – but we did learn that Sean loves Jello…and then it was time for the Easter egg hunt…

20120408-213929.jpg

20120408-214011.jpg

20120408-214127.jpg

Yeah, I’d say they had a good time…Aidan ended up having to put eggs in his pockets because he filled up his basket…and the boys were included in their family tradition and “found” special eggs with their names on them…I sat on the backporch in a swing and just spent a few hours chatting and watching my babies play…it was the most relaxed I’ve been in a while…and it was even better because the boys were so happy…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on April 8, 2012, in Moments in Life, Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

