The Potty Chronicles – Signs of Progress

I wonder if I will look back on this period of Sean’s life and be amazed that I helped him through this or relieved that it’s over…

Progress is being made, but not without moments that make me wonder…

Sean is so nervous about accidentally going on the floor that when I take the diaper or pull-ups off, he parks himself on his potty…he eats breakfast on the potty…he drinks juice on the potty…he watches Thomas on the potty…he has a whole set-up next to the potty with a place for all his stuff…

And yes, I’ve told him that he doesn’t have to sit on the potty – unless he has to go…

When he does something, anything, in the potty we cheer and make a big deal out of flushing it all away…and then we celebrate with Skittles…

I’ve made it such a habit to ask if he has to go that he will randomly yell out, “I no have to poop, Mommy!” Thanks honey…and “randomly” means when we’re in a crowded public place…and when I say yell, I mean scream

No matter how the potty-training goes, it’s still better than when Aidan was learning…that was pure hell…in comparison this is a freaking breeze…I’m just glad we’ve made progress recently – it gives me hope that I won’t be changing his diaper when he’s 30…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

