The Benjamin Boys Say The Darnedest Things

Aidan: “What’s a pussy?”

Me: (Gulp) “Ummmm…”

Aidan: “Is it a cat?”

Me: “Yep, that’s exactly it!”

Oh holy hell, that was close…

*****

Sean: “Aidan is my best friend…Caleb is my best friend…Joshua is my best friend…”

Me: “So you like them?”

Sean: “Nope.”

Me: “But they’re your best friends?”

Sean: “Yeah!”

I’m not sure which part he doesn’t understand – “best friend” or “like.”

*****

Me: “What would you boys like for dinner?”

Aidan: “Whatever you’re cooking, Mom!”

What have you done with Aidan? And who is this kid? I like him, but for the record, I should probably know where my oldest child is located…

*****

Aidan: “I want to see that movie! Just the two of us, Mom!”

Some pirate movie coming out in a couple of weeks…

Me: “We’ll have to see…movies are expensive. I might not be able to afford it.”

Aidan: “Well, you shouldn’t buy anything until you’ve saved up enough!”

Me: “You mean like food for you and Sean?”

Aidan: “Well, just buy everything at the Dollar Tree instead. That way you’ll save lots of money!”

I wish I could take him to the movies…I really do…

*****

All of the above conversations occurred in the forty-five minutes it took me to pick everyone up, get them home, and get dinner started.

20120416-183221.jpg

They really are best friends…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hello! I am enjoying your blog and I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Congratulations!!

  2. You have a wonderful writing voice. I am also the Mother of 2 boys (Logan, almost 7 and Wyatt just turned 4). I essentially live your blog 🙂 This was yesterday:
    Wyatt : “Mommy, Herbivores eat plants!”
    Me : “That’s very good honey! What do Carnivore’s eat?”
    Wyatt : “Dinner.”

  3. Total sweetness from the Benjamin Boys….and i totally get the best friend thing because they’re best friends you’re not always gonna like them. Makes total sense to me!!!You always love them though!

Leave a Reply

