I Want, Part 2

Sometimes when I get something off my chest, I immediately feel better…ok, so sometimes I have to sleep on it, and then I feel better…

Yesterday wasn’t a horrible day, but talking about what was on my mind didn’t relieve any of the tension…today, I’ve felt lonely…loneliness is one of the worst feelings – and I’d like to think I’ve felt enough of crappy things in the past year to know…

A couple of weeks ago, I thought about what I wanted in life…and made a list…what I want right now, in this moment, is a little different…

I want someone to look at me with love in their eyes…

I want to hold hands…

I want someone who treats me gently – when I need it…

I want someone who wipes away the tears – and reminds me that it’s ok to cry…

I want my feelings to be considered…

I want to share my burdens…

I want to belong somewhere…with someone…

I want shared looks…

I want shared laughs…

I want intimate smiles…

I want what I can’t have right now…and it’s not even a matter of making it happen…

It’s the loneliness of my own life getting to me…it’s a fleeting feeling, I know that…being alone is not the worst thing in the world…of all the things I’ve experienced in the last year, this one is the hardest – not because it’s horrible…but because there’s no fixing it…I don’t want a random warm body just to fill the space, to fill the loneliness…

I can’t imagine that I’m the only single parent, hell, the only single person to feel like this…I wish I knew how other people handle it…I wish I knew how to cope better when it does start to get to me…most of the time, I just bury it down deep, because I try not to focus on things I don’t have control over…every once in a while, it rears it’s ugly head, and I’m not sure what to do about it…nothing I guess, except to write about it, and hope that the weight lifts…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Random, Word Vomit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve so been where you’ve been and you’ve been reading my blog long enough to know that. It’s hard. It sucks. Sometimes you just break down and cry because the loneliness is just there. You can’t escape it. You can’t rid yourself of that feeling. It captures you and takes over your whole body.

    How to cope? I just did the best I could do. I started running. I focused on me and found something in my life I enjoyed that I looked forward to. I filled my time with other things so I didn’t think about being lonely. For the most part, it worked. Yes… I still had moments of sadness when I’d think about my life and wished I was living the one I wanted, but I had to remember that it’s all about the journey, and being lonely sometimes was just part of it.

Leave a Reply

