The Potty Chronicles – Gettin’ There

We have had a few successes recently…I say “we” like I’ve done something…ha!

Sean can and will use the potty at daycare…woohoo!

Sean can and will cry everytime I take his Pull-ups off at home so he can easily use the bathroom…

He doesn’t have the dexterity yet to pull his pants down and then back up, but he knows when he’s got to go…at home, though, he’s perfectly happy to use the diaper or Pull-up…underwear or bare-butt – that makes him nervous…

Sometimes I take pity on him and just let it be for the day…there’s nothing more pathetic than a toddler who’s afraid to get off the potty…

I think he only tolerates his teachers and me because he knows he’s getting some candy…I hope the candy as bribery thing doesn’t last into adulthood…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on April 29, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hated the potty training years. Maybe that’s why three of my four children were nearly 4 when they finally left the pull-up stage behind. At one point, we wondered if we were going to have to have their eventual spouses do the potty training. I say, if the candy works, go for it. Let them deal with the candy addiction when they get older.

Leave a Reply

