My Blog Is One Year Old

I woke up this morning thinking about this post…hell, I was thinking about it when I went to bed last night…sad but true…

The one year anniversary of a blog seems like a big deal to me…Just over 200 posts, nearly 5000 views, and 66 subscribers later, I’m still amazed that people read the stuff that lives in my head…especially since I’m not passing out advice about life, love, or children…what blows me away even more is that there are people who go to their browser, type in the url for my blog, and read my thoughts – on purpose…?! And damn I wish I knew who it is…or maybe I’d rather not know…hmmmm…

I started this blog because I had so much in my head that I couldn’t seem to get out…I thought I was going to explode…I’ve always done better when I talk it all out…for whatever crazy reason, I thought, “Hey, let’s do it in a completely public forum!”

But, I’ve digressed (as usual)…this morning I thought I knew the direction of this post…and then real life intervened…Sean is sick…we spent three hours in immediate care…because this mother of the year still hasn’t found the boys a new pediatrician since we moved six months ago…his eyes were oozing, his nose was oozing, he was slobbery, and he was a little furnace – who promptly fell asleep in my arms…

I felt people glancing at us…feeling sorry for one or both of us, I think (probably the adorable baby in my arms)…the image I presented feels stereotypical, I think…single, harried, stressed out mom with sick child, all alone, no help, blah blah blah…and I thought about how I would have reacted a year ago to a day like today…

I think it would have made me sad…I’m sure I would have stressed out about Sean being sick, me missing work, taking care of a sick child and a hyper, healthy child – you name it…

A lot can change in a year…

No need to feel sorry for myself…I know I can handle days like this – I do it all the time…

Sometimes I don’t think I’ve changed…only that I’ve learned how to fake it…or that I’ve come to accept my life instead of railing against it…so I guess it’s a question better answered by the people who’ve read my crazy thoughts…especially for the people (brave souls that you are) who have read from the beginning…

Am I different? Have I changed in the past year?

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on your year mark…mine will not be until October of this year. Blogs are amazing, everything that Facebook could never be! It seems to me that bloggers are the struggler’s, the hard workers, the dreamers that have moved beyond, “I’m bored” to the “I want to stop being so boring!”

    This is an awesome feat and I hope you have relished in it for at least a week!

    • Thank you!

      I think blogging feeds itself…I look at life differently now – constantly assessing whether I want to blog about that moment and what my point of view is…some days I wake up thinking about a post, and some days, I go to sleep thinking about it…

      Good luck on getting to your own one year mark!

  2. oh crap I still need to call the girls pediatrician and get my kiddos switched over to her as well as the baby….no no no I don’t have TIME!!! Happy Bloggaversary I am so proud to have known you most of this last year!Your growth has been amazing!

Leave a Reply

