Happy Mother’s Day

I wasn’t going to do the obligatory Mother’s Day post…but I changed my mind…

Mama and The Step came to visit on Saturday and we celebrated Mother’s Day with dinner…dinner with two cranky little boys – of course…

I sort of slept in today…on the couch and I could hear the boys when they woke up and rushed in to see their grandparents…I smiled a little because I was glad it wasn’t me…

I tried to keep sleeping even after everyone came downstairs – be shocked, but it wasn’t possible…

I had the luxury of an uninterrupted shower…and I took advantage of that by staying in the shower for probably 30 minutes, water bill be damned!

By 10am, they were on the road and we were back to normal…except I felt lonely and Sean cried because he hates when his grandparents leave…

I made the mistake of mentioning on Facebook that all I really wanted for Mother’s Day was a day with no meltdowns…I should have known better…Sean had three or four little mini-tantrums…yay.

Aidan surprised me with a handmade card…It had six “x’s” and six “o’s” – Aidan pointed out all the hugs and kisses…the inside was the best part – “You’re the best mom ever. You’ve done great work for me.” All together now, “Awwwwww….” He really is a sweet boy…

I lost an hour somewhere in the day…at one point, I thought it was 6:30pm, and it was really 7:30, and I rushed to get the boys their bath and in bed…

I’m getting ready to go out of town for a week for work…made the gray hair go away, packed (mostly), painted my nails…you know, the important stuff…

So, there you have it…Happy Mother’s Day – to me and all the moms out there in the world…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 13, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

