What Do I Want To Be When I Grow Up?

I’m in Washington DC this week for work – and I adore it.  The fact that I’m in DC, the fact that it’s for work (I have an amazing job, y’all), and the fact that it’s a kid-free week.  Yeah, I admit it – I don’t miss them yet.

I do have a great job.  I work in a cool industry.  I see an amazing amount of potential for me right where I’m at right now – and there are things I would love to do and accomplish and become…and yet…

I feel like I’m on the precipice of something…like the entire world is laid out before me, and whatever I can dream up, I can make happen…I can do anything…I can be anything…and the question becomes “What do I want to be when I grow up?”  Everything I’ve done since college was happenstance…I knew someone who loved my work ethic and could get me a job after college…I got tired of that (because I hated it) and found something else…I got laid off from that (budget cuts…the only reason I’ve ever lost a job was because of budget cuts) and found my current employer…none of my career decisions were strategic…none were entered into with fully-planned thoughts for the future…

And I want to change that…I want to work towards something…I want to build something for myself…I want to be in charge of my own destiny…Big Brother told me the other night that I have the ability to work hard for whatever I want in life…true that, Big Brother!  But what I need, according to him, is an ideas person…and I hate to admit it, but he’s right.

Before, it was a problem of not enough ideas…now, I have too many ideas…I want to do this…I want to do that…I could be this…I could be that…and how the hell do I pick?  Which one is the right one?

Here’s my perfect-world circumstances: I’d work for myself…I’d get paid to write…I’d stay in the world of social media, blogging, and whatever else is invented in the next five minutes…are the things I’m good at marketable skills? Would someone pay me to do what I do on their behalf?  I don’t know…but I have to figure out a way to find out…

But first, I have to decide what I want to be when I grow up…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Independent Michaela, Moments in Life, Thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I live in VA, so much to do in the District, enjoy!!

  2. Your post really resonates with me..going from no ideas to plenty.

    • I feel like the whole world has opened up for me…and it’s almost overwhelming because I can’t do them all, but I want to…

      And I LOVE DC…I wish I had time to be a tourist…

      • yes! and trying to find to pursue these dreams after a long day at work is frustrating! I try to stay focused on one thing at a time instead of scattering my energies amongst the many other ideas and possibilities.

  3. I’m still trying to figure it out myself 🙂

  4. You have just wrote what I have been thinking in my head for months now!!! OMG, is all I can say!

  5. I want to recommend a book to you. “The Renaissance Soul” (argh…why can’t I underline or italicize in comments lol) by Margaret Lobenstine. Margaret is a career and life-coach. This book is based off her personal experiences and the experiences of her clients. This book is for people who feel like they have to pick one thing to do when their whole personality says pick 5 or 10 or 13(or in my case 1500) things and love them all. She shows steps to take and ways to make it work.

Leave a Reply

