The Benjamin Boys Are At It Again

Aidan: Where do babies come from?

Me (gripping the steering wheeler tighter): Um…from a mom’s stomach…

Aidan: How does a baby get in there?

Me: Ummmm….

Aidan: Like an egg?

Me: Yes! If an egg is fertilized, it grows in the mom’s stomach.

Aidan: Like a chicken egg?! Isn’t it hard?

Me: Not quite. Humans are different from chickens.

Aidan: Oh.

Why he didn’t follow up with more obvious questions, I’ll never know. But I am damn grateful the conversation ended there.

*****

Aidan had his first dentist appointment today. He was great! No fear, no hesitation. It was wonderful…which tells me Sean will be the exact opposite…

He does have two cavities…the dental hygenist asked if I wanted to see…this was the moment I realized I hadn’t actually been paying attention to her…

Me: What is that?

A: A cavity…

Me: Oh! I’ve never had one…I didn’t know that’s what they looked like…

Yes, I am 32, and I’ve never had a single cavity…Aidan is 6 and has two…I have a feeling that his dental future is going to be long and rocky…

*****

Sean is at that stage of two that sucks most…he’s closer to turning three and the tantrums are more frequent and definitely louder…his new favorite word is, “NO!”

I walked in to pick him up from daycare and he was sitting in timeout…because he told Hot Daycare Chick, “NO!”

He didn’t even look sorry…

*****

Aidan is now officially a Cub Scout. I had to think long and hard about it, though…

It wasn’t just the cost…Aidan’s on the Grandma Scholarship program…but it was only $10, which ain’t easy, but I made it work…

It wasn’t just the time commitment…eventually I have to let him do something, and everything takes time…

I don’t like to associate with any organization that discriminates against any group of people…and the Boy Scout’s stance on LGBT bothers me…intolerance, bigotry, discrimination – it pisses me off…it’s wrong…

But…

How do you ever effect change if you aren’t in a place to do so? How do I teach him about intolerance if he’s never exposed to it? And why discount all the good an organization does? Maybe he can be the generation that goes through the Scouts and teaches tolerance…maybe it will be his group that demands change…

Oh, and the deciding factor? They brought Boy Scouts in to help with the meeting…they held doors open for people…they said sir and ma’am…they were helpful…and I thought, “Yes, I want that…”

*****

I wish the Cub Scouts would take toddlers…Sean was exasperating tonight…

At one point, I was literally chasing him around the room…I had told him to do something…he used his favorite word: NO!

I had the dilemma of going after him because that was unacceptable behavior (knowing I’d have to chase him) or letting it go, and knowing the other parent’s would think my lack of discipline was the real problem…I chose the chase…

Five minutes later I caught him…I was mortified…I was sweaty…I was pissed…and I just wanted to get the hell out of there…and I was reminded just why I avoid going places with both boys when I have to concentrate on something other than them…

I felt all eyes on me…I wanted to hide in a corner…but I acted like I didn’t see them…I dealt with Sean (in a voice loud enough to show that I do discipline my children)…I paid the registration fee…and got the hell out of Dodge!

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

