I Must Have Left My Handbook At The Hospital

I’m sure my children came with instructions…I just lost them at the hospital…there have to be rules for how some of this is supposed to work, right? Yeah, probably not…

Sean fell asleep sitting on the potty around noon today – before he’d eaten lunch…I put him down for a nap, thinking it was strange, but assuming he would wake up starving and all would be well…not quite…

I woke him up three hours later, and he was on fire…he didn’t want to eat…he didn’t feel good…and all I have is children’s ibuprofen – which he likes to take, so at least that part was easy…

I brought him downstairs, and we dozed in the recliner…I felt his fever break, and for about two minutes he had energy…but he still didn’t want to eat…I gave him apple juice…because this Mother of the Year never has pedialyte, gatorade, or ginger ale in the fridge…nor do I have the money to buy any right now…this becomes a problem later…

Sean fell back asleep in the recliner just before six…I took pity on him and just put him to bed again…he still hadn’t eaten since breakfast…

Fast forward five hours later…I’m getting ready to go to bed, and my house smells horrible…I took out the trash…I wiped down the counters…I re-rinsed the dishes…I sprayed Febreze…nothing worked…I started to go upstairs and the smell of shit hit me like a ton of bricks…

Uh oh…I looked in on the boys and saw the stain…and I knew…oh holy hell…how had he slept through that?!

I carefully lifted Sean out of the bed and carried him to the bathroom…

Do I clean off the bed? How is Aidan sleeping through this? Do I wipe Sean down before I put him in the tub? Hell, should I just hose him down? I know I’m cleaning the tub and washing laundry tonight…

I gave Sean a bath, but wouldn’t let him sit down…poor baby was shaking and had to hold my hand to stand up…I went through two wash clothes before I felt he was clean…I dried him off and got him dressed in fresh pajamas – I think that alone made him feel a little better…

I put him on the floor so I could tackle his bed…Aidan continued to sleep…

I thanked God for the plastic mattress cover on Sean’s bed…I wiped it down with a bleach cleaner, remade the bed, let Sean use my pillow, and gave him a quilt…

More ibuprofen, a sip of juice (why do I not have ginger ale?!), and back to bed…

I told him that if he pooped again to call for me, and I’d come running…the fear of future diarrhea is what kept me from putting him in Aidan’s bed…or mine for that matter…

No, dude, you’re gonna keep sleeping on the bed with the mattress cover until this is over…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 27, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That was alot! I hope he gets to feeling better and thank goodnes for plastic sheets. I am going to have to start writing all this down so when I have kids I will have a clue. Thanks!

  2. Uggg poor guy and definitely poor mom! You handeled the situation about as well as any of us could’ve. Oh and if you find that manual will you send me a photocopy please???

Leave a Reply

