What’s Wrong With The Benjamin Boys?

I don’t think there’s a full moon…and they don’t seem like they’re completely demon-possessed, but WTF, dude?

Sean: “Mommy go faster!”

Me: “I can’t Sean. I can only go as fast as the cars in front of me.”

Sean: “Race the cars, Mommy.  You have to!”

Me: “Race them?  No, baby, I can’t do that.”

Sean: “Race the cars now, Mommy!!  I said, NOW!”

And who do you think you are, little man?

*****

Me: “Aidan, I can always tell when you lie because you smile.  So don’t even try it.”

Aidan: “OK, Mom, I promise I won’t lie anymore.”  Smirk, smirk.

Really, dude, really?!

*****

A.: “Um, Ms. Mitchell, Ms. R. needs to talk to you about Aidan.”

Me: “Now?  Right now?”

A.: “Uh, yeah.  She’s on the phone, but she’ll be done in just a minute.”

I park the car, get Sean out, and walk into Boys & Girls Club.  What has he done now?

Ms. R.: “Aidan and D. talked about boys kissing boys today, apparently.  Aidan told D. he should do it, and then smacked D. in the face.”

If fire could have shot out of my eyes, Aidan would have been a scorch mark on the floor.  Tears filled his eyes. Good…be scared, boy, be very scared.

Ms. R.: “I just love Aidan, but when he’s around D., they are too wild.  I’m going to need to separate them.”

Me: “I understand.  There’s a reason I won’t let them have a sleepover at our house.”

Ms. R.: “When I confronted Aidan about it, he denied everything D. said…until I threatened to get the tapes from the video camera.  And then he confessed.”

Me: “Yeah, he’s been lying a lot lately.  I’m not sure what to do about it.  But we will deal with this at home, I assure you.”

We left, and I felt like I was doing the walk of shame…why is it when your child gets in trouble, it’s the parent that has to go talk to someone?  No, I understand completely, though…it still isn’t a pleasant feeling.  Aidan knew exactly what his punishment was…or thought he did.   Normally, he gets to go on two or three field trips a week…not next week.  Finally, something surprised him.

I just don’t know what else to do to get through to him.

*****

Sean: “Mommy, don’t go to Burger King!”

Me: “Not a problem!”

Sean: “Don’t get me something to drink from Burger King!”

Me: “Easily done!”

Reverse psychology from a two year old…

*****

Sean, screaming, crying, flailing on the floor: “I want another one Thomath!”

Me: “It’s time for bed.  No more Thomas.”

Sean, still screaming, crying, flailing: “I want another one Thomath on your iPad, Mommy!!  NOW!”

I pick him up.  He immediately stiffens from head to toe.  I carry him upstairs, and he climbs up my head, over my shoulder, desperate to get away.  I almost lose my balance and fall down the stairs.  Damn it boy!

Me: “Sean, if you don’t stop this right now, no Thomas at all tomorrow!”

Silence and compliance…the tears dry up immediately…wonder how long this tactic will work…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

