The Potty Chronicles – I’m Not Brave Enough Yet

Ok, because I’m sure everyone is dying to know how Sean is doing with the potty training thing, I’ll tell you…

Great! If you’re his daycare…stays dry all day, uses the potty at the designated times, and does a little happy dance about…woohoo!

Crappy (no pun intended), if you’re at our house.  I’ve slacked off, I know.  But progress has been made in one area – he doesn’t cry when I take his diaper off, forcing him to use the potty!  Woo…hoo?

When he does use the potty, like he did today, he’s very proud of himself…

“I pooped, Mommy!  Look!”

I do all the obligatory things…”Yay, Sean-Sean!”  “Woohoo! You did it!” “Good job!”  The whole time I’m thinking, “Oh holy hell, how does something that size come out of someone so small?!”

When I need to clean his butt, I asked him to lean forward a little…he does a downward facing dog pose for me…it’s simultaneously the cutest thing ever and a little gross…

“I farted, Mommy!”  And then he giggles…every time.  Thanks, dude.

The one thing I’m not ready for is the big boy underwear…he has it.  I just haven’t found the courage to let him wear it.  I like the diaperless thing – when he’s got to go, he can sit down on the potty by himself…no help from me required…until he’s done the deed, of course.

I know it’s not a big deal to clean up a mess…hell, I’ve been wiping his butt for nearly three years, now…what’s a little more, right?

Oh well, one more thing I’ll need to get over…and if it means he finishes with diapers and Pull-ups quicker, it’s ultimately worth it…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 7, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. In regards to farting – my children think it is one fo the funniest words ever and no matter how often it is said, it still makes them happy.

    • Oh, thank God, I’m not the only one! I had a friend of mine (who’s raised 2 of her own) say she’s never seen children so obsessed with butts and farting like mine are…I started wondering if there was something wrong…lol

Leave a Reply

