The Benjamin Boys Are Pretty Freaking Awesome

I walked into Sean’s daycare class today…they were practicing shapes.  Sean raced to show me all the stamps on his hand – one for each shape he knew.

I looked at Cute Daycare Teacher…

Me: “He says his shapes for you?”

Cute Daycare Teacher: “Absolutely! And his letters and his numbers! He knows shapes like hexagon – don’t you, Sean-Sean?”

Everyone calls him Sean-Sean now…Lord, the things I start…

Apparently he’s using the potty like it’s nothing, too…we’ll bring the Thomas big boy underwear tomorrow so he can try those out during the day…

We did play a new game in the care on the way to pick up Aidan…I said one letter, and then he said a couple, and then I said the next, and then he said a few more…all the way to Z…we tried it with numbers – he’s still working on those…

*****

Aidan earned Member of the Week for his team at Boys and Girls Club…it came with a nifty certificate and a coupon for Dodge’s Fried Chicken (it’s part gas station – only in the South, baby!)…guess what we’re having for dinner later this week…especially since Friday is fried chicken night?

I was pretty impressed with him…considering two weeks ago he got in trouble for smacking another child in the face…

Aidan: “I didn’t hit him that hard, Mom!”

Right, like the police will one day care that the assault and battery charges being pressed against you are for a beating that wasn’t that hard…

*****

This positive reinforcement thing seems to work, too…Monday night is taco night…

Aidan: “What can I do to help?”

Me: stunned silence…

And then I put him to work…grating cheese, getting the sour cream out of the fridge…hell, y’all he even offered to help take out the trash…wait, what?

*****

Right before I got too complacent, Sean held on to my leg for dear life and cried for 20 minutes while I cooked dinner…Aidan even offered to play with him…but he wanted Mommy…he won, too…eventually I finished cooking, and I picked him up…30 seconds later, he was done with me…

*****

They freaking amaze me, y’all…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment