For Aidan

Happy Birthday, Aidan.  Today you are seven years old…and while a part of me views you as really young (because you are), another part can’t believe how quickly you’re growing up…

So much has happened in the past year, so many changes…and you amaze me everyday…from the way you read to your brother to the way you hold my hand crossing the parking lot…

You held my hand today…and it was different than it used to be…your hand is strong, you’re filled with the confidence of youth – that thing that makes you believe anything is possible…and it’s in those moments that I know I haven’t somehow damaged you with the divorce…

When you say, “Yes ma’am” and “Please and thank you,” I know you’re going to be ok…

And you’re a good big brother, too…talking to Sean, playing with him, reading to him, helping him put his shoes on (when I beg you)…in these moments, I know you’re growing up just fine…

You still have your moments…crying tonight for 20 minutes because you couldn’t have a soda right before bed reminded me just how young you really are…

I’m very proud of you and love you more than I know how to express – even when I want to sell you to the gypsies…if this is who you are at 7, I can only imagine what the future holds…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

