I Paid Money For That

I “found” a babysitter for the boys a couple of weeks ago – found being a relative term since she’s Sean’s day care teacher, but whatever…

We needed to do a trial run – a couple of hours, let’s see how the boys act, blah blah blah…it was just an excuse to find an afternoon or evening for peace and quiet…and today was the day!

All I wanted to do was go grocery shopping by myself…and I paid for the pleasure…it was worth every damn penny…Aidan admits he doesn’t like to go grocery shopping – because Mean Mommy never buys him anything – ever…you know how I am, letting him starve and go naked…

I bought shoes for Sean – there was no whining from Aidan that he wanted shoes…I went to lunch – there were no little voices demanding a kid’s meal toy…I went to Sam’s Club for some of my bulk items (and the best damn price on milk in town) – in and out in 15 minutes…I went to Dollar General – and looked at toiletry items for several minutes to decide what I wanted, instead of grabbing whatever I can reach just to get the hell out of there…I went to Winn Dixie and bought what was on my list and ONLY what was on my list…

Yes, those three hours were worth every penny I paid for them…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 29, 2012, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Ahh peaceful. Everything is different with the kids. I’m glad the apce allowed you to enjoy your errands.

  2. What a great idea! I have two boys and a girl and they are always jockeying to sit in the cart, whining for snacks, wanting to play the demo games in the electronics department, or wanting to go to the toy department. Why haven’t I thought of leaving them with a sitter or family friends, or gypsies! lol

  3. This sounds divine. I couldn’t even get outta Sam’s Club in 15 pre-kids. You’re a boss!

Leave a Reply

