Raising Boys #4

My boys amaze me every day…sometimes in a good way…sometimes not so much…

“Chu chu”  “Aaan”  “Tain”  “Buk”  I think that’s “choo choo,” “Aidan,” “train,” and “book.”  But I could be wrong.  Sean is talkative but it’s his own language at this point.  My favorite? “Con-neeeeeeeeeeee” – that would be Ms. Connie at daycare.

“These are BUTT cheeks, Mommy” – Aidan pointing to his butt.  “You have butt cheeks too!” – pointing to my butt.  Thanks honey.

“If you marry a boy, does that mean you’re gay?”  Wait, what?

This is not the conversation I want to have with a five year old during bath time…it just isn’t.  Once I realized the “you” in that statement wasn’t ME, but referred to him, then the statement made a little more sense.  Apparently, he hugged a little boy today and someone (presumably older) said that was “gay.”

So, first, we established that yes, if a grown man marries another man, we can assume he’s gay.  Then I went into the, “there’s nothing wrong with being gay” speech.  Yes, I know some people disagree.  But that’s how we roll at my house.  Then I let him know that it’s not okay to refer to someone as gay in a mean way (I didn’t feel like explaining what “insult” means).  Then, I finally got up the courage to ask him what he thought about marrying a boy.  And the response was, “DISGUSTING!” So you like girls?  “Yup!”  Oh, thank God! 

Can we go back to asking how Sean got in my stomach?  I think I can handle that question now.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. bwahahaha…i think you handeled it all beautifully!!! good job momma

Leave a comment